top of page
  • Writer's pictureDonny Marco Barnes

Venice: Accommodation


This is going to be the first post in a series about my trip to Venice last October. I enjoyed the trip so much I wanted to share my experiences. So if you're thinking about traveling to Venice these posts will be great to inform you about where to stay, what to eat and what to do.


JW Marriott Entrance

There are loads of great places to stay in Venice. Sophisticated hotels on private islands, contemporary apartments right on the water and antique Venetian hotels in the centre of the city. Where you stay really depends on what you like and your purpose of travel. For example a solo traveler looking for an adventure should perhaps look into booking an apartment close to the heart of the city. This would give you more freedom and the ability to get up and go for an early start without having to pay hundreds of pounds for a luxurious hotel. Like me if you're concerned about getting a good night's rest it's worth paying the extra money for comfort. I decided to stay at the JW Marriott Resort and Spa and while I didn't use the spa I must say it was a fantastic hotel! My travel buddy and I stayed in La Maisonette Pool Suite which was very cutting edge and it featured 1 bedroom, 2 bathrooms, a pool and a living area.The room was really just to sleep in but I did go in the pool which was more of a small jacuzzi and very enjoyable after a busy day exploring.

The actual hotel grounds were so beautiful. The gardens were gorgeous and carefully maintained. I was amazed that they grow olives on the island as well and it was incredible to walk past these fresh olives growing on the trees.


Dopolavoro Restaurant

There were loads of places to eat in Venice but we chose to eat at the hotel quite a lot and I’ll go into more detail about that in another post. The staff were lovely. Just lovely. So helpful at checking us in and sorting out any other reservations that we needed. So I would give 5 stars for staff! The whole hotel was really great so 5 stars for that!!!

Okay thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed it. Don’t forget to subscribe for the other Venice posts. Ciao!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page