top of page
  • Writer's pictureDonny Marco Barnes

Top 5 Maui Must-Do's

This blog post is probably a little outdated now, considering that it’s been 7 months since I was in Maui. (Where did these last few months go?!) However, I still wanted to give you guys this list of my top 5 things to do in Maui. Maui was not my favourite island on this particular trip however there were some really good things about it!


1) Explore the island from the sky.

Taking a helicopter trip is pretty popular in Hawaii but Maui is my favourite island to do it on. I’ve actually done two helicopter trips with Blue Hawaiian helicopters on the island one to Molokai a few years ago and one over Haleakala, Hana and the rainforest last year. I loved both but I’d definitely say that Molokai was my favourite. The likelihood of me ever visiting Molokai in person is very low because the people there are very protective of their land and so as a responsible traveler I feel it would be wrong to visit their home when they clearly don’t want me too.


Maui helicopter view

2) Hike through the rainforest

One of my favourite places in Maui was Iao Valley State Park. There is a $5 parking fee if you park inside the park but free if you park outside. The rainforest is stunning and the little mud trails you can take really allow you to explore. Don’t fall for the mini hike at the top. It's a short walk up to a man-made viewing platform and is often the extent of what most visitors see. Instead ignore the trail of people heading up the steps and head deep into the trees. If you’re feeling adventurous take a dip in one of the streams with the locals but be careful, the current is quite strong.


Iao Valley State Park
Iao Valley State Park

3) Chow down on a delicious breakfast at Charley’s

Fairly pricey but way worth it, Charley’s Restaurant and Saloon in Paia serves lunch and dinner daily however if you want the best experience possible you need to go for breakfast. The biggest pancakes I have ever seen, coupled with chocolate chips and a side of bacon! Juliana chose french toast and both meals were beyond incredible. (To et an early helicopter ride with Blue Hawaiian Helicopters and then drive into Paia for breakfast)


Pancakes at Charleys
Delicious Paia pancakes

4) Experience the local surfing community at Hookipa

Hookipa is a popular surfing and windsurfing beach on the north shore of Maui. Head along Hana Highway through Paia and past Mama’s Fish House to reach the beach where you will find a lot of people pulling up in the car park with surfboards. If you didn't bring a board head along to the lookout point (turn at the food trucks) Here you can watch the surf grab a hot dog and spot the turtles, don’t mistake them for rocks!

Hookipa Surfing
Catching waves at Hookipa

5) Try some quality Asian

Japengo is a Japanese/Asian restaurant within the Hyatt Regency grounds that serves delicious and flavourful seafood and sushi. I’ve eaten here twice once a few years ago and once last summer. This most recent time we had a few problems with some parts of the meal and the service (Servers were rude and disagreeable) however the food is delicious and in general the servers are nice and understandable. However, I have to warn you the portion sizes come huge here! So if you’re going to have a starter, main course and dessert with some sushi thrown in as well, be careful because you’ll be stuffed after your first bite! The menu is bursting with delicious dishes but ether are a few that I’d like to personally recommend as being standouts.


  • Korean Seafood Pancake

  • Kung Pao Duck Meatballs

  • Hoisin Glazed Pork Ribs

  • Lobster Dynamite

  • Japengo Seafood Udon

  • Japengo Fried Rice

I would also recommend you try to sushi but I’ll leave that decision up to you!

Thank you so much for reading and I hope this helped you if you were planning a trip to Maui anytime soon. If you want any specific details or any more fun things to do or restaurants to eat in then give me a shout through my Instagram, email or on my contact page. Aloha!


Blue Hawaiian Helicopters

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page