top of page
  • Donny

Venice: Things To Do

Venice has some incredible places to visit if you're in a sightseeing mood. I’m going to share with you my personal favorite things I did whilst in Venice.

Venice has some amazing architecture and some fantastic places to visit. On the first day we went to the Doge’s Palace which was magnificent. It is a huge gothic palace and I won’t say too much about it because if you ever get the chance to visit I don’t want to spoil it for you. But it was so interesting and if you love history and art it is a must see because there's so much to learn about it. We were lucky because we managed to secure a place on the Secret Itineraries Tour and it was absolutely awesome. We got to see some secret rooms and the prison area from where Casanova escaped which was really cool. It was definitely one of my favorite attractions of the trip.

Murano, Entrance
Murano Glass Sculpture

Another great thing we did on our trip was visit Murano and go to the glass factory. We took an arranged speed boat across to the linked chain of islands and went on a tour around the glass factory. The orange glow from the glass being sculpted was so dazzling I had to cover my eyes! But it was really interesting to go and see how the amazing glass necklaces, chandeliers and sculptures were made. I remember going up in the elevator and stepping out into this huge display room where these gigantic but gorgeous chandeliers were dangling from the ceiling. It was just really cool and my friend Juliana loved it. Murano wasn’t just about glass though we did walk around a bit and find somewhere to have a drink and we saw this huge crystal glass sculpture which was very cleverly constructed. Murano is a must see for anyone visiting Venice.

Peggy Guggenheim Museum, Art Work

The Peggy Guggenheim Museum was also a prominent stop on our Venetian exploration and it was definitely worth going to. The Peggy Guggenheim Collection was located at her former home Palazzo Venier dei Leoni and there were rooms and rooms of expressive art work. Me and Juliana were astounded by how many pieces of art Peggy Guggenheim must have collected in her lifetime. Some pieces were very abstract while others were very clear and it was easy to see the idea behind the painting or sculpture.

Okay those were my favorite things that I did and saw in Venice I hope you enjoyed it. Don’t forget to subscribe! Ciao everyone!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page